Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 21.04.2019, 15:13

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 23.01.2019, 18:17 
Offline

Joined: 08.03.2018, 12:00
Posts: 12
It seems a bit counter-intuitive, as nodes already have an identifier (their ID), and makes Horde3D a bit offputting for procedural generation.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 24.01.2019, 21:13 
Offline

Joined: 17.11.2009, 17:00
Posts: 175
Location: Russia, Moscow
It is used, for example, to find internal parts of the mesh, like hand joint in the knight example. Without the name, how would you find the required joint? You could do a for loop to find the required one or hard-code it (something like "int handjoint = 35; h3dSetNodeTransform(handjoint,...)"), but it makes the code harder to understand/maintain/etc. So the main reason is probably convenience.

As far as I know, practically all engines allow getting node by name. Some hash it, some not (this is more of a performance issue), but the functionality is there.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 26.01.2019, 13:33 
Offline

Joined: 08.03.2018, 12:00
Posts: 12
Well, I suppose I'll have to find a workaround in the case of procedural content. Currently what I thought of is to just call it the pointer to "this".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group