Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 28.03.2024, 11:26

All times are UTC + 1 hour

PostPosted: 12.06.2011, 18:28 

Hello,

This is my first message on this forum so.. 'Hi' to everyone ))

I'm relatively new to Horde 3d but I've recently decided to build our renderer ( for a machinima framework project called 'Raafal' ) on top of it because of its clean api ( and C ), and its great flexibility ( especialy regarding the pipeline ). So a big thanks to the author(s) for this wonderfull "piece of art" ( really :-] ).

Of course, nothing is perfect in this world, and the ( only ) issue I have with Horde 3d is regarding its fixed vertex attributes paradigm.

For us to be able to build our renderer on top of Horde 3d, several customs vertex attributes are needed such as, velocity vectors ( for object - including deformation - motion blur ) and several others related to subdivion surfaces ( we are implementing mesh refinement from Matthias Holländer and Tamy Boubekeur : "Synthesizing Subdivision Meshes using Real Time Tessellation" )

I'm then posting this message to request advises about wich would be the best way to add these custom vertex attributes without the need to corrupt the core Horde 3d sources.

For instance there is an extension mechanism and by looking at the terrain extension, I've seen that this extension registers its own 'vertex layout' and the associated commands to allow for this entity to be created proceduraly.

I have the feeling that this may be the right way to implement our needs, by creating a custom node type allowing subdivision surface and motion blur through additional vertex attributes, but I would be glad to hear from you if it is, or if there is perhaps another clever way for achieving this, or if we have to modify the core Horde 3D sources anyway ( wich I would rather not ).

What are you thoughts, advises or suggestions on this ?

Thanks a lot in advance.
Kind Regards,
Guy.

PostPosted: 13.06.2011, 10:23