Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 18.04.2024, 05:36

All times are UTC + 1 hour

PostPosted: 03.06.2012, 09:04 

Hello,

I am a game enthusiast who is trying to find the right engine (free/opensource) - either 3D engine or full game engine for my need to create games. I am not a pro in C/C++ but do understand C/C++ code. I am very much interested to know how much horde3d differs from ogre3D feature wise ( not architecturally ) - since both are 3D rendering engine. I want to know what features compared to OGRE3D is lacking in HORDE3D in its current beta5 release. Can any body give straight point wise feature list that is lacking in HORDE3D as compared to OGRE3D ?
It will help me choose which one to use. I personally feel very comfortable with the C style API of HORDE3D but I need to know if I will be sacrificing anything for the sake of "simplicity".

Thanks,

PostPosted: 03.06.2012, 11:08 

Hi Juggernaut

I personally don't know Ogre3D completely, but when compared to Horde3D I'd say the obvious difference is that Ogre focuses on having every feature and every backend supported, whereas Horde3D focuses on using the most appropriate features relevant to modern hardware without getting too complex or bloated. 'Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler' would be a good explanation of Horde3D.