Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 29.03.2024, 13:51

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 05.02.2008, 15:57 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Workaround: Use this code in calcPhongSpotLight (fragLighting.glsl)

Code:
// Shadow
if( NdotL > 0.0 && att > 0.0 )
{   
   vec4 projShadow = shadowMats[3] * vec4( pos, 1.0 );
   if( viewDist < shadowSplitDists.x ) projShadow = shadowMats[0] * vec4( pos, 1.0 );
   else if( viewDist < shadowSplitDists.y ) projShadow = shadowMats[1] * vec4( pos, 1.0 );
   else if( viewDist < shadowSplitDists.z ) projShadow = shadowMats[2] * vec4( pos, 1.0 );
      
   projShadow.z = lightDist;
   projShadow.xy /= projShadow.w;
      
   float shadowFac = PCF( projShadow );
   col *= max( 0.5, shadowFac );

[...]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 13.02.2008, 15:22 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2007, 17:05
Posts: 707
Location: Boston, MA
marciano wrote:
Workaround: Use this code in calcPhongSpotLight (fragLighting.glsl)


That doesn't crash, but all shadowed geometry becomes completely black. Not sure why, as it does exactly the same thing as the old code, just doesn't grab the temp matrix.

On a happier note, Apple pushed out updated OpenGL drivers, and the Chcago sample now runs at a steady 12 fps, which while not up to the PC side, is still a vast improvement.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 14.02.2008, 17:07 
Offline

Joined: 18.09.2007, 13:09
Posts: 5
Hi,

thanks for your great work. We have recently bought an Apple here in our lab and we are also using Horde3D. Would it be possible to repost the Xcode project for reference? I am new to this IDE and I still have some difficulties to get my old c++ code to run in there.

thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 14.02.2008, 17:27 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2007, 17:05
Posts: 707
Location: Boston, MA
gregor wrote:
thanks for your great work. We have recently bought an Apple here in our lab and we are also using Horde3D. Would it be possible to repost the Xcode project for reference? I am new to this IDE and I still have some difficulties to get my old c++ code to run in there.


No problem, and glad to see some interest in the Mac port! I will package up the xcode project over the next couple of days (sorry, exams), and post them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 14.02.2008, 19:36 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
@swiftcoder: Thanks for the update on the driver situation. It is good to see that there is at least some progress...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 17.03.2008, 13:14 
Offline

Joined: 18.09.2007, 13:09
Posts: 5
Hi,

would be great if you could up load your XCode project?

thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 17.03.2008, 13:16 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2007, 17:05
Posts: 707
Location: Boston, MA
gregor wrote:
would be great if you could up load your XCode project?

Apologies, I will get to that tonight.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20.03.2008, 17:28 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2007, 17:05
Posts: 707
Location: Boston, MA
gregor wrote:
Hi,
would be great if you could up load your XCode project?

Sorry it took so long, busy of late. You can find the whole thing here. The XCode directory contains the project, while the Horde directory is the vanilla 0.14.0 distribution (with absolutely no modifications).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22.03.2008, 09:30 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Great to have an updated version for Mac.

I just had a quick look into your archive and wonder why everything is included two times (in the __MACOSX folder and the Horde XCode folder). Is this required for OSX?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22.03.2008, 13:20 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2007, 17:05
Posts: 707
Location: Boston, MA
marciano wrote:
Great to have an updated version for Mac.

Note that that is just the source version for the previous 0.14 binary, which several others had requested. Any idea when you will be releasing a few of those tasty newer features (terrain, etc.)?

marciano wrote:
I just had a quick look into your archive and wonder why everything is included two times (in the __MACOSX folder and the Horde XCode folder). Is this required for OSX?

The __MACOSX folder seems to be a side effect of the Mac's built in zip archive support (probably to handle resource forks gracefully). It is invisible on the Mac, and should be ignored elsewhere.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 24.03.2008, 17:39 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
swiftcoder wrote:
Any idea when you will be releasing a few of those tasty newer features (terrain, etc.)?


Might be we will manage to make the next release still this week. But I can't promise that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 05.04.2008, 00:12 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2007, 17:05
Posts: 707
Location: Boston, MA
First, the good:

The Mac build of 1.5 is all compiling fine, including the terrain extension.
The Knight sample now runs at a steady 40-45 fps, which is a huge improvement.

Now the bad:

The terrain sample runs at 3 fps.
The crowd sample can't find the model or animation, this is the error from the log:
Code:
1.290   Adding resource man.scene.xml
1.290   Adding resource man.anim
1.290   No data loaded (file not found?) for resource man.scene.xml
1.290   No data loaded (file not found?) for resource man.anim


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 05.04.2008, 17:44 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Thanks for your efforts in porting the latest 0.15!

I just tried the terrain sample on our X1600 Pro and it works surprisingly fast (for ATI) with around 200 fps. So the problem must probably be somehow related to OSX.

The issue with the Chicago sample not finding some files is strange, but that should be quite easy to debug. My first thought was that it is a case sensitivity problem with the filenames but then it also wouldn't work on Linux which is not true.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 05.04.2008, 20:34 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2007, 17:05
Posts: 707
Location: Boston, MA
marciano wrote:
I just tried the terrain sample on our X1600 Pro and it works surprisingly fast (for ATI) with around 200 fps. So the problem must probably be somehow related to OSX.
There are also some culling issues, and some weird translation artefacts with individual terrain patches. Any chance of a copy of the newer version from SVN?

Image
Click here for full-size image

marciano wrote:
The issue with the Chicago sample not finding some files is strange, but that should be quite easy to debug. My first thought was that it is a case sensitivity problem with the filenames but then it also wouldn't work on Linux which is not true.
OK, that was simple. I hadn't realised that the CrowdSim class loaded the man in a separate transaction, and thus I hadn't fixed up the path. How would you feel about a debug option to activate logging of all attempted paths for failed load commands?

This sample has seen a decent performance boost as well, maintaining a steady 11 fps with the entire scene in view.

Also worth noting is that the current lighting shader doesn't crash, which is excellent! However, I am not seeing anything except for bounding boxes in debug view - is this normal?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 06.04.2008, 15:21 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
swiftcoder wrote:
There are also some culling issues, and some weird translation artefacts with individual terrain patches. Any chance of a copy of the newer version from SVN?


There haven't been many changes. Volker has already posted the few lines of code that need to be modified to improve the culling.

swiftcoder wrote:
This sample has seen a decent performance boost as well, maintaining a steady 11 fps with the entire scene in view.


Please not that the Chicago sample has a different lighting setup with just one instead of two light sources. Probably this explains the performance boost you noticed.

swiftcoder wrote:
Also worth noting is that the current lighting shader doesn't crash, which is excellent! However, I am not seeing anything except for bounding boxes in debug view - is this normal?


You should see the geometry in debug mode as usual.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group