Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 27.04.2024, 06:58

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: fast offscreen rendering
PostPosted: 13.05.2010, 11:15 
Offline

Joined: 13.05.2010, 09:35
Posts: 11
Hi, I'm new to Horde. I would thank some desing advise to do optimized off-screen rendering. I read that I can do render to texture setting the OutputTex property of the camara, and I'd like to end with a frame in CPU memory, but would like to benefit of Frame Buffer Objects (or any other speedup). Can I do this with Horde3D? what would be the best philosohpy to do fast off-screen rendering with Horde3D? Thanks in advacne,

Jesus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 13.05.2010, 12:10 
Offline

Joined: 15.06.2008, 11:21
Posts: 166
Location: Germany
well, you definately could render into a texture and then use h3dMapResStream to read the data. Reading data from vram always is relatively slow though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 13.05.2010, 12:27 
Offline

Joined: 13.05.2010, 09:35
Posts: 11
Thanks a lot, I'm nearer now. Fast answer!

Quote:
Reading data from vram always is relatively slow though.


I need the frames for video encoding.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 13.05.2010, 12:43 
Offline

Joined: 15.06.2008, 11:21
Posts: 166
Location: Germany
About the speed:
http://www.gpgpu.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.p ... 14d4c43163
(The function is glGetTexImage, you might want to google that)

Quote:
Fast answer!

Well, usually you have faster response times in IRC ;D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 27.08.2010, 10:23 
Offline

Joined: 13.05.2010, 09:35
Posts: 11
Hi, I'm doing my offscreen rendering quite fine via render to texture. What I would love is to be able to do this *windowless*, (I mean, I dont want to create a win32 window). Is this even possible, any hints about how it's done? Thank you in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 27.08.2010, 13:16 
Offline

Joined: 21.08.2008, 11:44
Posts: 354
JesusLopez wrote:
What I would love is to be able to do this *windowless*, (I mean, I dont want to create a win32 window). Is this even possible, any hints about how it's done?
It is nearly impossible to do that, AFAIK easiest way is to use Windows Forms (dot net stuff) and set transparency/alpha for your form but application will be too slow. Have look at codeproject.com for tutorials.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 27.08.2010, 13:23 
Offline

Joined: 13.05.2010, 09:35
Posts: 11
Siavash wrote:
JesusLopez wrote:
What I would love is to be able to do this *windowless*, (I mean, I dont want to create a win32 window). Is this even possible, any hints about how it's done?
It is nearly impossible to do that, AFAIK easiest way is to use Windows Forms (dot net stuff) and set transparency/alpha for your form but application will be too slow. Have look at codeproject.com for tutorials.


thanks Siavash


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 27.08.2010, 14:58 
Offline
Tool Developer

Joined: 13.11.2007, 11:07
Posts: 1150
Location: Germany
JesusLopez wrote:
Hi, I'm doing my offscreen rendering quite fine via render to texture. What I would love is to be able to do this *windowless*, (I mean, I dont want to create a win32 window). Is this even possible, any hints about how it's done? Thank you in advance.


Depends on the platform you are using. I didn't tested it myself but a quick google showed up the following maybe interesting results:

Mac
http://lists.apple.com/archives/mac-opengl/2010/Mar/msg00077.html

Linux / Windows
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums ... _id=534886


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 30.08.2010, 08:51 
Offline

Joined: 13.05.2010, 09:35
Posts: 11
Thanks Volker,

I'm on windows, the Mesa stuff is interesting but I need to exploit the 3d hardware accel for rendering, I wonder if anybody has had good results with GDI memory or whole-screen Device Contexts and using perhaps h3dutInitOpenGL().

Kind regards, Jesus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 30.08.2010, 16:20 
Offline

Joined: 15.06.2008, 11:21
Posts: 166
Location: Germany
And an invisible window is no viable solution for you? That one should be quite simple.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 31.08.2010, 09:26 
Offline

Joined: 13.05.2010, 09:35
Posts: 11
phoenix64 wrote:
And an invisible window is no viable solution for you? That one should be quite simple.


Thank you all, that works fairly well. Sort of hackish anyhow.

ps: Great horde engine.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group