Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 26.04.2024, 04:49

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Is Horde3D good for me?
PostPosted: 04.01.2011, 10:35 

Hello, this is my first time on the forums and I'm wanting to know is Horde3D good for me?

I'm wanting to create a cross-platform game, (if this graphics engine is good for me) I'm going to make a game engine out of it.

I'm wanting to be able to script the game in Lua/(and maybe python), I'm going to use the PAL physics wrapper and build on top of that to enable Havok (and so I can use other physics engines like Tokamak), use OpenAL for audio, PerfStudio for debuging of graphics, FFmpeg or Xvid for video, and bzip2 for packaging of important files so no one can touch them for bad uses.

I am currently wanting to create a vehicular combat game (Racing around a track with cars that have guns and explosives), and a third/first person horror game.

What I'm trying to get at is if this graphics engine (is fast and can handle alot of stuff and) can have contents easily added/intergrated into it. Plus one thing I don't think there is with the graphics engine is a particle editor/creator(I'm not sure).

I was really looking between Irrlicht and Ogre3d, but Ogre3D looked nice but very big and messy, and so I looked more on the internet finding Horde3D, and it sort of jumped out at me, and thats why I'm on this forum asking my question.

PostPosted: 04.01.2011, 11:49 

You will not get any particle editor. And you will not get any simple GUI integration, although CEGUI (just like with Ogre3D) or guichan should work with little to no effort.

I don't particularly like the model converter either, but the blender exporter works well. Don't know whether that is what suits your needs for your engine in terms of resource importing.