Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 19.04.2024, 03:23

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: pipeline customizations
PostPosted: 12.07.2007, 19:36 

Hello,
I'm brand new to Horde3D and I'm trying to understand the basics. Right now I'm concerned with properly using the pipeline when implementing transparent objects, tons of lights, and procedurally updated content.

I assume the examples with the 0.11 release of Horde3D are using deferred rendering only. Is there documentation showing how to change them to a forward rendering pipeline? I'm still browsing the docs for that answer, but I thought I would ask this anyway in the context of my next question. As far as I understand, transparent objects are a problem with deferred, so what is the recommended way to deal with them? I've read that a simple solution can be to mix them with a forward renderer. How can I accomplish this?

Can I add support for different shadow implementations without changing the engine? Would I do this by adding my own stage with a custom shader?

I'll be asking more questions as I experiment. I think understanding what I can do with a 'context' is going to help the most. I've been impressed with the quality of questions in the forums. I hope to see more of what people are making with the engine. Thanks for any feedback.

Post subject:
PostPosted: 13.07.2007, 11:52 
Engine Developer

Hello cyrfer,

the samples use a forward rendering path. The Chicago sample has also a deferred path in the pipeline configuration which is commented out by default. Generally I would suggest to use the forward path since it is faster for most situations (except when you have many light sources) and you have less problems with translucent objects, memory consumption and so on.