Horde3D
http://horde3d.org/forums/

Troubleshooting a black window: no errors in DumpMessages()
http://horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1677
Page 1 of 1

Author:  tshannon [ 04.06.2012, 15:57 ]
Post subject:  Troubleshooting a black window: no errors in DumpMessages()

I've got almost all of api calls written in a first pass for the Go wrapper I'm writing for Horde3D, and I'm running into some issues trying to do a simple example using SDL.

The code here (http://code.google.com/p/gohorde/source ... sdl/sdl.go) is old, but I'll commit the latest when I get back to my home PC. You should be able to get the gist of what I'm trying to do though.

Basically, I'm getting the black SDL window, and calling DumpMessages() doesn't show any errors, but I'm not seeing anything.

What other tools are at my disposal (from an API perspective) to look for errors. Is there some sort of verbose logging I can enable? My concern is I might not be making the C calls properly, but as near as I can tell it seems to be running fine.

Author:  Volker [ 04.06.2012, 20:04 ]
Post subject:  Re: Troubleshooting a black window: no errors in DumpMessage

Haven't used SDL myself before, so not sure what might be necessary to init a proper OpenGL window in SDL. But you could first try to insert a glClear with a custom glClearColor in the rendering loop instead of trying to render in Horde already, just to make sure, viewport and OpenGL window is initialized correctly. If that does work, it might be possible that camera transformation is pointing to a black area of your scene. You could also try to activate the debug rendering in Horde (by using h3dSetOption( H3DOptions::DebugViewMode, 1 )) and check if that makes a difference in the rendering output.

Is the EngineLog file empty or does it only shows no error?

Author:  tshannon [ 04.06.2012, 20:08 ]
Post subject:  Re: Troubleshooting a black window: no errors in DumpMessage

Volker wrote:
Is the EngineLog file empty or does it only shows no error?



Only shows no errors. It has all of the init messages. I'll post a dump of it later.

Author:  tshannon [ 20.06.2012, 04:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: Troubleshooting a black window: no errors in DumpMessage

Here's my Horde3D Log from the code here: http://code.google.com/p/gohorde/source ... fw/glfw.go
Using GLFW.
Code:
0.000   
Initializing GL2 backend using OpenGL driver '3.3.0 NVIDIA 295.40' by 'NVIDIA Corporation' on 'GeForce GTX 295/PCIe/SSE2'
0.033   
Loading resource 'hdr.pipeline.xml'
0.045   
Loading resource 'knight/knight.scene.xml'
0.046   
Loading resource 'pipelines/globalSettings.material.xml'
0.046   
Loading resource 'pipelines/postHDR.material.xml'
0.047   
Loading resource 'models/knight/knight.geo'
0.051   
Loading resource 'models/knight/knight.material.xml'
0.051   
Loading resource 'textures/ambientMap.dds'
0.052   
Loading resource 'shaders/postHDR.shader'
0.052   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/postHDR.shader@FINALPASS[0] ----
0.054   
Loading resource 'shaders/model.shader'
0.054   
Loading resource 'models/knight/knight.jpg'
0.057   
Loading resource 'models/skybox/skybox.dds'
0.070   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/fragPostProcess.glsl'
0.071   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/postHDR.shader@BRIGHTPASS[0] ----
0.072   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/postHDR.shader@BLUR[0] ----
0.073   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/vertCommon.glsl'
0.073   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/vertSkinning.glsl'
0.073   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/model.shader@SHADOWMAP[1] ----
0.075   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/fragDeferredWrite.glsl'
0.075   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/model.shader@ATTRIBPASS[1] ----
0.077   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/fragLighting.glsl'
0.077   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/model.shader@LIGHTING[1] ----
0.082   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/model.shader@AMBIENT[9] ----
0.084   
Loading resource 'textures/common/defnorm.tga'



I've tried moving the camera and the model node around to make sure it's in the view, but I'm not getting anything, not even with the debug viewer on.

Right now the code shows the same positioning of the Knight model as where it is in the Knight Sample, which starts out on screen.

I started from the tutorial here: http://horde3d.org/docs/html/_tutorial.html but it references pipeline and model resources that don't seem to exist anywhere, and I believe standard pipeline is now forward pipeline, which leads me to believe it's a little out of date.

Author:  tshannon [ 26.06.2012, 04:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: Troubleshooting a black window: no errors in DumpMessage

Figured out the issue. The problem was a typo in how I was defining the camera option enums in Go. Everything was working fine, but basically the Camera::ViewportWidth enum was defined as the wrong number.

Everything's working now.

Thanks.

Author:  MistaED [ 26.06.2012, 05:54 ]
Post subject:  Re: Troubleshooting a black window: no errors in DumpMessage

Congrats tshannon! I've not used go-lang before but it does sound like it could be a cool language to use. Be sure to send patches in too! :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/