Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 06.12.2021, 01:04

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Skyboxes
PostPosted: 14.05.2007, 13:32 
Offline

Joined: 03.05.2007, 11:26
Posts: 26
I've noticed that the skybox in the Chicago demo comes out black, despite there being a texture mapped to it. I tried applying a sky texture to it but it still came out black. Is there a trick to making the sky visible?

Mark


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 14.05.2007, 13:50 
Offline

Joined: 05.03.2007, 19:38
Posts: 167
Location: Romania
lol, i`ve encountered the same problem and now i was fiddling with it. i had modified the skybox.shader.xml and commented the line
Code:
//gl_FragColor.rgb = vec3( 0, 0, 0 );      // Black sky
and uncomented the line
Code:
gl_FragColor.rgb = albedo;
(lines 65 and 66)
plus i have modified the lighting.shader.xml and did the same to the lines 29 and 30. now i was searching a way to turn the spotlight into an ambient light to test if this works. any idea on how to achieve this?

paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 14.05.2007, 15:01 
Offline

Joined: 03.05.2007, 11:26
Posts: 26
SpOOky wrote:
lol, i`ve encountered the same problem and now i was fiddling with it. i had modified the skybox.shader.xml and commented the line
Code:
//gl_FragColor.rgb = vec3( 0, 0, 0 );      // Black sky
and uncomented the line
Code:
gl_FragColor.rgb = albedo;
(lines 65 and 66)
plus i have modified the lighting.shader.xml and did the same to the lines 29 and 30.


Thanks Paul! Well spotted. I've got sky now :D

SpOOky wrote:
now i was searching a way to turn the spotlight into an ambient light to test if this works. any idea on how to achieve this?


No idea I'm afraid. I have messed with some of the light values. My sky came up as soon as I made your changes. I will have a look tomorrow (but you will probably get there first!)

Mark


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 14.05.2007, 15:03 
Offline

Joined: 05.03.2007, 19:38
Posts: 167
Location: Romania
actually it doesnt require that. i forgot to copy the skybox.scene.xml to my content folder. :oops: thanks for the horde log marciano! ;)

now i was rushing to post the results. im happy i could help ;)

and in other news, ladies and gents, we have sky!
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 14.05.2007, 22:19 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Looking nice, but you should adjust the position and color of the light source so that it is more like the sun in your skybox :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skyboxes
PostPosted: 09.11.2009, 13:40 
Offline

Joined: 12.07.2009, 23:47
Posts: 8
Hi.
I would like to change example Chicago replacing the sunset with a blu sunny sky. How can I do that?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skyboxes
PostPosted: 09.11.2009, 15:44 
Offline
Tool Developer

Joined: 13.11.2007, 11:07
Posts: 1149
Location: Germany
Just replace the skybox texture file and adjust the material to the new file name


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skyboxes
PostPosted: 10.11.2009, 10:39 
Offline

Joined: 12.07.2009, 23:47
Posts: 8
I already tried so, but the sky comes out black. Should I perhaps use images with a fixed dimension? But in this case... which dimension? And where can I find a suitable one?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skyboxes
PostPosted: 10.11.2009, 11:02 
Offline
Tool Developer

Joined: 13.11.2007, 11:07
Posts: 1149
Location: Germany
The skybox dds file is a cube map,... is your's one too?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skyboxes
PostPosted: 12.11.2009, 01:13 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
As Volker mentions, our skybox is currently using a cube map. This allows to modify the texture coordinates so that the box always appears to be far away, even if you stand directly in front of it. However, it would also be possible to use a huge box with standard texturing instead (makes texture creation a bit easier).

BTW, a nice tool for generating dds cube maps is ATI CubeMapGen. It can take a vertical cross texture as input and generate a dds cube map from it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skyboxes
PostPosted: 13.11.2009, 20:38 
Offline

Joined: 12.07.2009, 23:47
Posts: 8
Thank you.

As you suggested, I easily solved using CubeMapGen :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Skyboxes
PostPosted: 13.10.2012, 13:52 
Offline

Joined: 13.10.2012, 11:56
Posts: 3
marciano wrote:
As Volker mentions, our skybox is currently using a cube map. This allows to modify the texture coordinates so that the box always appears to be far away, even if you stand directly in front of it. However, it would also be possible to use a huge box with standard texturing instead (makes texture creation a bit easier).

BTW, a nice tool for generating dds cube maps is ATI CubeMapGen. It can take a vertical cross texture as input and generate a dds cube map from it.


Hi, i am a freshman, so i want to ask you how to use CubeMapGen to convert a picture(jpg, bmp, or other formats) into cube map. since CubeMapGen now has another name---the modified CubeMapGen, i don't know what the input is ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group