Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 21.04.2019, 20:03

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 15.02.2013, 22:45 
Offline

Joined: 15.02.2013, 22:38
Posts: 4
so, i have done quite a bit of programming with c++ and made a fairly complex terminal based game but i want to try using a graphics engine, i looked online and this one was suggested for new person.

my problem is that i don't know how to start using horde3d, i went to the website and downloaded it to my desktop. and really thats as far as i have gotten. i dont know if i need to put the files a specific place or what. I'm currently using visual studios 2012 express and i know how to make a run programs but i am not familiar at all with visual studios so a very explicit explanation would be very awesome.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 16.02.2013, 02:05 
Offline

Joined: 15.02.2013, 22:38
Posts: 4
halpppp :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 16.02.2013, 13:50 
Offline
Tool Developer

Joined: 13.11.2007, 11:07
Posts: 1149
Location: Germany
It seems like you don't have much programming experience, so I don't want to be rude, but I really think you should NOT start programming something complex like a 3D game until you are able to control your programming environment and have at least some basic knowledge about 3D graphics and shader.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 16.02.2013, 17:57 
Offline

Joined: 16.02.2013, 04:52
Posts: 3
I would highly suggest that you make a 2d game before you start using 3d.

If you want to make a 3d game, I found irrlicht to be the easiest engine to just get some things on the screen. You should check that out.

To get Horde working in visual studio 2012 I had to run cmake. Make a new file in the Horde3D folder called VisualStudio2012.bat. Open it in notepad and put
Code:
@cmake -G "Visual Studio 11" ..

Then save and run it. This should generate Visual Studio 2012 project files for you. Open the Horde3D.sln, set Knight as the start up project, and run it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 16.02.2013, 21:25 
Offline

Joined: 15.02.2013, 22:38
Posts: 4
i have made a 2D game with command prompt, i pretty much recreated harvest moon with command prompt


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 16.02.2013, 21:33 
Offline

Joined: 15.02.2013, 22:38
Posts: 4
i made the batch file and it didn't seem to do anything, i opened the .sln and i set knight as startup project and get:
Error 1 error C3861: 'h3dSetupViewport': identifier not found
Error 6 error LNK1104: cannot open file 'Horde3DUtils_vc8.lib'


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group