Horde3D
http://horde3d.org/forums/

What does GroupNode Do?
http://horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=223
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Dark_Kilauea [ 20.01.2008, 07:23 ]
Post subject:  What does GroupNode Do?

I'm currently working on a project using Horde3D and was wondering what exactly the GroupNode did, and how it could be used in a game engine environment.

If someone could enlighten me that would be great.

Thanks.

Author:  marciano [ 20.01.2008, 22:52 ]
Post subject: 

GroupNode is actually just a generic container for other nodes. The rootnode for example is a GroupNode. The only special thing is that it can have a min and max visibility distance which makes it possible to realize level of detail.

Author:  DarkAngel [ 21.01.2008, 02:03 ]
Post subject: 

Also, say that in your game a room is only sometimes visible - you can put all of a rooms geometry into a group node, and when you know that the room isn't visible, you can hide the group node, which tells horde to ignore all of that geometry.

Author:  Dark_Kilauea [ 21.01.2008, 05:08 ]
Post subject: 

alright, thanks for clearing that up :)

Author:  cantele [ 10.07.2008, 12:22 ]
Post subject:  Re: What does GroupNode Do?

How is this hiding achieved? I skimmed through API docs but couldn't find a way.

Author:  Volker [ 10.07.2008, 12:34 ]
Post subject:  Re: What does GroupNode Do?

Do you search for setNodeActivation?

Author:  cantele [ 10.07.2008, 12:44 ]
Post subject:  Re: What does GroupNode Do?

Oh... "activation" didn't come to mind. I just searched for 'visibility' and 'hiding' etc. Maybe the docs could have a list of keywords or just explicitly mention this kind of words? Well, at least now when the forum is searched, people will bump into this thread... previously there wasn't one. :idea:

Author:  swiftcoder [ 10.07.2008, 13:31 ]
Post subject:  Re: What does GroupNode Do?

cantele wrote:
Oh... "activation" didn't come to mind.
Agreement - when I hear 'node activation', I think of a physics engine. Visibility or Hiding would be better terms ;)

Author:  Volker [ 10.07.2008, 13:40 ]
Post subject:  Re: What does GroupNode Do?

Well as far as I know the node and it's children are completly excluded from the update method, that may be the reason why it is called Activation and not Visibility.

Author:  swiftcoder [ 10.07.2008, 15:25 ]
Post subject:  Re: What does GroupNode Do?

Volker wrote:
Well as far as I know the node and it's children are completly excluded from the update method.
You are correct, but since the update method only affects visibility related attributes...

Author:  cantele [ 15.07.2008, 17:36 ]
Post subject:  Re: What does GroupNode Do?

This is working fine. But how would I be able to obtain knowledge whether a node is "active" or not from the engine? I think this information is crucial and I don't like caching this kind of things. Should I provide a patch?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/