Horde3D http://horde3d.org/forums/ |
|
What does GroupNode Do? http://horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=223 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Dark_Kilauea [ 20.01.2008, 07:23 ] |
Post subject: | What does GroupNode Do? |
I'm currently working on a project using Horde3D and was wondering what exactly the GroupNode did, and how it could be used in a game engine environment. If someone could enlighten me that would be great. Thanks. |
Author: | marciano [ 20.01.2008, 22:52 ] |
Post subject: | |
GroupNode is actually just a generic container for other nodes. The rootnode for example is a GroupNode. The only special thing is that it can have a min and max visibility distance which makes it possible to realize level of detail. |
Author: | DarkAngel [ 21.01.2008, 02:03 ] |
Post subject: | |
Also, say that in your game a room is only sometimes visible - you can put all of a rooms geometry into a group node, and when you know that the room isn't visible, you can hide the group node, which tells horde to ignore all of that geometry. |
Author: | Dark_Kilauea [ 21.01.2008, 05:08 ] |
Post subject: | |
alright, thanks for clearing that up |
Author: | cantele [ 10.07.2008, 12:22 ] |
Post subject: | Re: What does GroupNode Do? |
How is this hiding achieved? I skimmed through API docs but couldn't find a way. |
Author: | Volker [ 10.07.2008, 12:34 ] |
Post subject: | Re: What does GroupNode Do? |
Do you search for setNodeActivation? |
Author: | cantele [ 10.07.2008, 12:44 ] |
Post subject: | Re: What does GroupNode Do? |
Oh... "activation" didn't come to mind. I just searched for 'visibility' and 'hiding' etc. Maybe the docs could have a list of keywords or just explicitly mention this kind of words? Well, at least now when the forum is searched, people will bump into this thread... previously there wasn't one. |
Author: | swiftcoder [ 10.07.2008, 13:31 ] |
Post subject: | Re: What does GroupNode Do? |
cantele wrote: Oh... "activation" didn't come to mind. Agreement - when I hear 'node activation', I think of a physics engine. Visibility or Hiding would be better terms
|
Author: | Volker [ 10.07.2008, 13:40 ] |
Post subject: | Re: What does GroupNode Do? |
Well as far as I know the node and it's children are completly excluded from the update method, that may be the reason why it is called Activation and not Visibility. |
Author: | swiftcoder [ 10.07.2008, 15:25 ] |
Post subject: | Re: What does GroupNode Do? |
Volker wrote: Well as far as I know the node and it's children are completly excluded from the update method. You are correct, but since the update method only affects visibility related attributes...
|
Author: | cantele [ 15.07.2008, 17:36 ] |
Post subject: | Re: What does GroupNode Do? |
This is working fine. But how would I be able to obtain knowledge whether a node is "active" or not from the engine? I think this information is crucial and I don't like caching this kind of things. Should I provide a patch? |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC + 1 hour |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group https://www.phpbb.com/ |