Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 05.04.2025, 23:26

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 16.06.2008, 15:56 
Offline

Joined: 09.05.2008, 19:02
Posts: 18
can anyone offer any suggestions as to how to improve the loading times of Horde3D on windows, the project which I am working on loads vast on a linux machine but takes over 30s to load under windows


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 16.06.2008, 19:48 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Are you sure you are building in release mode? I see no reason (and never experienced) why the resource loading under Windows should be significantly slower than on Linux.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 16.06.2008, 23:53 
Offline

Joined: 22.05.2008, 18:30
Posts: 37
We're not quite sure what it is.. it's strange that on my Linux laptop ( with an ATi Mobility x1300 too! ) it compiles and does the resource loading really quickly.. but when on Windows - even the examples take between 15-30seconds to load up all the resources, and this is on both my laptop, and the dev machines we've been given.

It could be that our level geometry is quite large, and that's what's killing it.. it doesn't help when artists decide to give you silly resolution textures for models too ;) ... I'm guessing Linux just caches things better.

Granted it seems somewhat silly complaining about a 15-30 second startup time, when the engine itself runs great when it's going.. but recompiling things and going through that 30 second startup eats away the time ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 17.06.2008, 02:27 
Offline

Joined: 08.11.2006, 03:10
Posts: 384
Location: Australia
I haven't tried it, but re-writing the basic file loading code to use Memory-Mapped IO instead (Using the Win32 API or Boost) might give a speed-up.

Or you could use a virtual/packed file-system, where you store all of your resources in a single file (perhaps something like PhysicsFS). This reduces the amount of per-file overhead that Windows will be causing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 17.06.2008, 07:52 
Offline
Tool Developer

Joined: 13.11.2007, 11:07
Posts: 1150
Location: Germany
You could also use a RAM-disk while developing. So you only need to copy the data once at startup.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 17.06.2008, 07:53 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Please take a look at the log file to see what is eating up most time. I recall that on Volker's notebook there was some very strange behavior with older NVidia drivers (80 or 90 driver series) where shader linking suddenly took much longer than expected. This looked like a driver bug since we didn't see the problem on any other (Windows) machine.

For increased productivity it would also make sense to use the Horde Editor which supports hot reloading of resources. For writing shaders that had proven to be indispensable in my previous project.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 17.06.2008, 09:10 
Offline

Joined: 22.05.2008, 18:30
Posts: 37
Yep, just checked and it's the shaders which are eating up the processing time:

Code:
0.859 Loading resource 'Kohi_Diffuse.tga'
1.000 Loading resource 'textureTest2.png'
2.672 Loading resource 'textureTest1.png'
4.359 Loading resource 'utilityLib/vertCommon.glsl'
4.359 Loading resource 'utilityLib/vertSkinning.glsl'
4.359 Shader resource 'skinning.shader.xml': Compiling shader context 'SHADOWMAP'
4.422 Shader resource 'skinning.shader.xml': Compiling shader context 'LIGHTING'
8.547 Shader resource 'skinning.shader.xml': Compiling shader context 'AMBIENT'
12.687 Loading resource 'utilityLib/fragDeferredWrite.glsl'
12.687 Shader resource 'skinning.shader.xml': Compiling shader context 'ATTRIBPASS'
16.921 Shader resource 'skinning.shader.xml': ShaderLog: [Linking]
Fragment info
-------------
(1012) : warning C7508: extension GL_ARB_draw_buffers not supported


Of course, that warning is somewhat worrying when we're using nVidia GeForce 6600GTs in these machines.. so I'm guessing it is a driver issue. We'll try get the drivers updated and see what happens :)

[edit]
Yea it was old drivers.. we've updated to the latest, and we've got it down to 6 seconds in loading :) and all the warnings have disappeared of "unsupported extensions."

We'll probably be writing a form of resource management soon anyway, so we can just dump everything into a PAK file and load that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group