Horde3D http://horde3d.org/forums/ |
|
Problems with .NET binding http://horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=409 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Corey [ 13.07.2008, 23:11 ] |
Post subject: | Problems with .NET binding |
Hi, I finally decided to get my hands a little dirty with Horde. I can't remember what I've posted in the past, but my intention is to use Horde from a .NET/Mono environment, so when downloading the engine today I went straight for the .NET bindings. I installed the latest release of Horde and the latest release of the .NET bindings from the Download links on the website (not from the Subversion repository, if that matters). I followed the installation instructions, extracting Horde to a new directory and then extracting the .NET bindings in the same directory (which matched up so that I ended up with a C# subfolder under the Bindings folder, just as it seems I should). I opened up the project file, and there were a couple of minor issues (I had to convert to Visual Studio 2008, the project files pointed to \Source\Horde3DEngine\Horde3D Engine.vcproj rather than \Source\Horde3D Engine\Horde3D Engine.vcproj and same for the Utils, and I think one or two other small things) but there was no real trouble at all. I spent a little while looking through the .NET wrapper (it's really impressively light and elegant compared to similar wrappers for other engines/libraries, no doubt largely due to Horde's small C interface). Then I decided to test everything out by building the samples and playing with them. Here's where I ran into trouble. The projects built just fine, but when I tried running them things were definitely not good. I could see the models and animations, and I could move the camera, but everything was orange and no textures were showing up. This was true in both the Chicago and the Knight sample. Additionally, there was a somewhat paler orange rectangle overlayed in the lower-right-hand corner of the screen. I had intended to take a screenshot of this behavior to show you guys, but unfortunately I'm now having another problem -- the Chicago.NET application will no longer launch, instead just briefly showing a gray window before crashing. I'm assuming that restarting my computer will fix this issue (temporarily at least) but I have this post mostly written so I wanted to send it off before I try. |
Author: | Corey [ 13.07.2008, 23:43 ] |
Post subject: | Re: Problems with .NET binding |
Yikes. Well, I figured out that the reason I couldn't open the samples anymore was due to a conflict with FRAPS, which I had opened in an attempt to take a screenshot (weird, right? I've never heard of FRAPS conflicting with anything). So I disabled FRAPS, and tried launching the Chicago sample again . . . this time, it "worked" for about thirty seconds and then hard-crashed my PC. (I got a blue screen with a note telling me that my computer had shut down to protect itself from damage, that I should restart my computer if this was the first time it had happened, and to contact the vendor if not. It wasn't even the normal BSOD, which I haven't seen in months . . . this was white block letters at 640x480, and looked more like a BIOS setup screen.) Am I possibly having driver conflicts, rather than this being a .NET issue at all? I have an ATI X1950XT, and I know there have been ATI driver issues . . . and I haven't updated mine in a month or two. |
Author: | Volker [ 14.07.2008, 09:03 ] |
Post subject: | Re: Problems with .NET binding |
Normally the orange "textures" are due to the missing of textures. The default texture is just an orange pixel. Did you check the EngineLog already? I only ajdusted the Pyropix .Net wrapper and made a quick test if the samples work. There might be still some issues since I didn't have the time to test it intensely. |
Author: | Corey [ 14.07.2008, 16:42 ] |
Post subject: | Re: Problems with .NET binding |
Volker wrote: Normally the orange "textures" are due to the missing of textures. The default texture is just an orange pixel. Did you check the EngineLog already? I only ajdusted the Pyropix .Net wrapper and made a quick test if the samples work. There might be still some issues since I didn't have the time to test it intensely. I did check the EngineLog, yes. I wasn't totally sure what to look for, so I actually went ahead and used DiffMerge to look for differences between the EngineLog for the .NET Chicago sample's log and the standard Chicago sample's log. There actually were no differences at all, except in the numbers in the left column of the table display (I assume this is the time passed in seconds?). Both logs had a couple of issues: notes that "Extension ARB_texture_non_power_of_two not supported" and "Extension EXT_framebuffer_multisample and/or EXT_framebuffer_blit not supported", and a few warnings about "Validation failed - samplers of different types are bound to the same texture image unit". However, these warnings were exactly the same in both logs, and yet the normal sample works fine while the .NET sample doesn't show textures. Of course my first thought when seeing this was that the textures weren't being loaded, but I'm not sure where to look to try to fix it, and I don't understand why the .NET samples have the problem and the normal ones don't. EDIT: It's so weird. I've been going through the code for both the .NET Knight sample and the standard Knight sample. I didn't think I was comfortable enough with C++ to do that, but it's similar enough to C# (at least superficially) that I'm not having any problems. The thing is, though, that the relevant parts of the two samples (it seems to me like the problem would have to be in the App code, where the resources are loaded) are virtually identical, line by line! I'm very confused. |
Author: | marciano [ 15.07.2008, 20:43 ] |
Post subject: | Re: Problems with .NET binding |
The .NET bindings on the pyropix and corresponding SF page are still for version 0.13. Do you use the latest ones from here? http://mm-werkstatt.informatik.uni-augsburg.de/project_details.php?id=48 |
Author: | Corey [ 16.07.2008, 03:45 ] |
Post subject: | Re: Problems with .NET binding |
marciano wrote: The .NET bindings on the pyropix and corresponding SF page are still for version 0.13. Do you use the latest ones from here? http://mm-werkstatt.informatik.uni-augsburg.de/project_details.php?id=48 Yes, those are the ones I'm using. There are quite a few references in the code (which are generally commented) to Horde 1.0.0. I'm also using the version of Horde 1.0.0B from the download page -- which I know isn't the most up-to-date (since I've seen in the forums that a few patches have been committed to version control), but which I suspect was the version the .NET wrapper was written for. I actually still haven't been able to resolve this issue, although I haven't had more than a couple of hours to try fixing it. Does anyone know if the .NET bindings and samples actually work at this point? Has anyone tried downloading a fresh copy of Horde, a fresh copy of the .NET bindings, and just building/running the demos? I'm not so much asking anyone to do that -- it's a lot to ask of volunteers -- but if someone else has already tried, I just want to know whether they do work for anyone else, which would at least indicate that there's something going on with my system in particular. |
Author: | Haruyasha [ 10.08.2008, 07:54 ] |
Post subject: | Re: Problems with .NET binding |
It was indeed written specifically for a newer svn build. I was having the same issue of textures not appearing a while ago. Rebuilding the engine from the svn resolves it. Just thought I would mention it.. better late than never. |
Author: | Volker [ 10.08.2008, 08:39 ] |
Post subject: | Re: Problems with .NET binding |
Thanks for reporting that. Sorry I forgot to have a look at that problem again. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC + 1 hour |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group https://www.phpbb.com/ |