Horde3D
http://horde3d.org/forums/

How to combine several meshes to a "grouped" bounding box?
http://horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=651
Page 1 of 1

Author:  wakko [ 18.02.2009, 15:43 ]
Post subject:  How to combine several meshes to a "grouped" bounding box?

I have a scene that consists of several hundred adjoining pieces of procedurally generated
geometry and the whole structure can be pretty stretched/long. Each piece is added
to the Horde scene graph as a separate Model node.
To improve performance I wanted to group some of these mesh-pieces into a
surrounding bounding box to let Horde perform a visibility check with this
surrounding bounding box first instead of checking each piece of geometry anyway.
So I tried to add sequences of 20 adjoining mesh pieces to a Horde groupnode.
But as far as I have seen this groupnode has no separate bounding box...
What's the trick to "combine" several model nodes in a surrounding bounding box?

Author:  swiftcoder [ 18.02.2009, 16:17 ]
Post subject:  Re: How to combine several meshes to a "grouped" bounding box?

wakko wrote:
What's the trick to "combine" several model nodes in a surrounding bounding box?
Right now, I don't think that there is one. The new spatial culling and LOD systems are still a work in progress, but it should eventually support multibounds for this purpose.

Author:  marciano [ 18.02.2009, 20:14 ]
Post subject:  Re: How to combine several meshes to a "grouped" bounding box?

With the new spatial graph the group node is no more a culling primitive.

Instead of creating many models you could create meshes and attach them to a single model. The model has a bounding box for all its meshes.

Author:  wakko [ 18.02.2009, 23:14 ]
Post subject:  Re: How to combine several meshes to a "grouped" bounding box?

Quote:
Instead of creating many models you could create meshes and attach them to a single model. The model has a bounding box for all its meshes.

Thanks. I will give this a try.

[edit]
Uhm... (how) can I attach my geometry resource to a meshnode instead of a modelnode?
As far as I have seen I can attach a GeometryResource only to a modelnode.

Author:  marciano [ 22.02.2009, 18:32 ]
Post subject:  Re: How to combine several meshes to a "grouped" bounding box?

wakko wrote:
Uhm... (how) can I attach my geometry resource to a meshnode instead of a modelnode?
As far as I have seen I can attach a GeometryResource only to a modelnode.

Only models can have a geometry resource but meshes can use a section of that geometry resource. So you need to put the vertex and triangle data of your small objects into a single geometry resource.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/