Horde3D
http://horde3d.org/forums/

Broken cubemap mipmaps
http://horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1512
Page 1 of 1

Author:  jacereda [ 22.04.2011, 20:49 ]
Post subject:  Broken cubemap mipmaps

Hi,

I noticed a problem generating cubemap mipmaps on OSX. According to http://www.opengl.org/sdk/docs/man3/xht ... Mipmap.xml:

Quote:
GL_INVALID_OPERATION is generated if target is GL_TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP and the texture bound to the GL_TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP target of the active texture unit is not cube complete.


A possible fix:

Code:
Index: Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/egRendererBase.cpp
===================================================================
--- Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/egRendererBase.cpp   (revision 763)
+++ Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/egRendererBase.cpp   (working copy)
@@ -466,12 +466,8 @@
                        inputFormat, inputType, pixels );
    }
 
-   if( tex.genMips )
-   {
-      glEnable( tex.type );  // Workaround for ATI driver bug
+   if( tex.genMips && ( tex.type != GL_TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP || slice == 5 ) )
       glGenerateMipmapEXT( tex.type );
-      glDisable( tex.type );
-   }
 
    glBindTexture( tex.type, 0 );
    if( _texSlots[15].texObj )

Author:  marciano [ 25.04.2011, 18:22 ]
Post subject:  Re: Broken cubemap mipmaps

Good finding, thank you!

The patch assumes that the 6th cube face is always uploaded last but that's a reasonable assumption. Unfortunately the ATI workaround can't be removed yet as even recent drivers still seem to have some issues.

Author:  jacereda [ 26.04.2011, 13:40 ]
Post subject:  Re: Broken cubemap mipmaps

marciano wrote:
Unfortunately the ATI workaround can't be removed yet as even recent drivers still seem to have some issues.


I do have an ATI and that works for me, but I think Apple uses its own drivers...
In any case, are those issues happening with any texture or just with cubemaps?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/