Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 18.04.2024, 23:54

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 23.01.2008, 05:29 
Offline

Joined: 16.01.2008, 00:24
Posts: 73
Location: Canada/Quebec
I was playing a little bit with horde3D when I tried to change the material of the knight. I tried to change the material of the knight helmet, in the example, and I found that the rest of the knight was invisible when Ive started the program. Then, the rest of the body became visible only if I get DONT look at the knight. And the animation of this part of the knight is working only while i'm not looking at the knight.

Heres some screens:


First, When I start the application, only the helmet is visible:

Image

And, if I dont look the knight, the body appear and became visible but without animation( While I'm not looking at the knight ):

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 24.01.2008, 03:10 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
I just changed the material of the helmet and didn't encounter any problems.

What shader are you using for the helmet?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 24.01.2008, 03:29 
Offline

Joined: 16.01.2008, 00:24
Posts: 73
Location: Canada/Quebec
marciano wrote:
I just changed the material of the helmet and didn't encounter any problems.

What shader are you using for the helmet?


I'm using this one: "skinning.shader.xml"

The material script is:

Quote:
<Material>
<Shader name="skinning.shader.xml" />

<TexUnit unit="0" map="rouge.tga" />

</Material>


"rouge.tga" is a single red pixel.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 24.01.2008, 06:36 
Offline

Joined: 16.01.2008, 00:24
Posts: 73
Location: Canada/Quebec
Ive just uploaded an example of this problem:

http://www.mediafire.com/?1fn0my3em3g

The code used in this example is exactly the same code that came with the horde sdk. Ive juste changed the helmet material.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 24.01.2008, 11:28 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Thanks for the sample!

It helped me greatly to reproduce and quickly track the problem. It really was a bug in Horde, but actually the solution is quite simple:

Find the line
Code:
if( skelChanged )

in Renderer::drawMeshes (egRenderer.cpp) and replace it by
Code:
if( skelChanged || _curShader != prevShader )

That's it.

Thanks again for revealing this problem :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group