Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 16.01.2018, 20:25

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 26.08.2009, 13:56 
Offline

Joined: 16.05.2009, 12:43
Posts: 207
It really is fantastic stuff from Mikko Mononen (one of the AI guys from Crytek/Crisis).

You can find recast (navmesh library) at http://code.google.com/p/recastnavigation/

Ignore the horrible colouring of the navmesh. I've got my renderstates in a mess right now :)

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 26.08.2009, 22:06 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
I always enjoy seeing your progress. Even that simple screenshot looks cool! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 31.08.2009, 19:53 
Offline

Joined: 05.03.2007, 19:38
Posts: 167
Location: Romania
looking sweet, have you thought about making a tutorial for this?

_________________
Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 31.08.2009, 20:40 
Offline

Joined: 16.05.2009, 12:43
Posts: 207
Hmm, a tutorial is a bit redundant really. Recast comes with a really good demo app that has all the code you need. Plus my implentation is very much built around my engine. I just reimplemented Recasts sample demo grabbing the data out of the Horde mesh, after Nicolas explained how to access the vertex/face data. It really is just about a cut and paste job. My biggest hurdle once I got the mesh stuff working has been integrating the paths in my component system, which wouldnt get you very far.

On the upside, I took a video: http://tinyurl.com/mdcgsx


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 31.08.2009, 20:45 
Offline

Joined: 05.03.2007, 19:38
Posts: 167
Location: Romania
i understand.

was the navmesh generated before h3d was initialized, or have you found a way to upload custom geometry to the engine?

_________________
Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 31.08.2009, 20:49 
Offline

Joined: 16.05.2009, 12:43
Posts: 207
No, unfortunately I cant load the navmesh unless the geometry resource is attached to a node. But I can load it, read the data, then remove it from the scene straight away. So I did that. At some point I might add a method to save out the navmesh once its been generated (takes maybe a second or two to generate a large mesh). My plan is to have dynamic generation though, because I want building placement on the fly.

But hey, I can live with static navmesh for my test environment for the moment. Plus it looks kind of funky :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 31.08.2009, 22:21 
Offline

Joined: 16.05.2009, 12:43
Posts: 207
Updated the video with a more complete navpath display (got my GL prims wrong). Added red endpoint for debugging the paths. Now to fix the string pulling!!! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 15.09.2009, 20:15 
Offline

Joined: 26.03.2008, 02:58
Posts: 160
Yep Mikko's work is really going to make open source games allot smarter, not only that but some of the algorithms did not have an open source implementation. It is a big step forward, no doubt.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group