Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 27.04.2024, 07:36

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: horde3d tutorial?
PostPosted: 03.01.2009, 05:43 

Hi, didnt exactly find the editor user friendly but then again I'm a programmer ;|

Any helpful tutorials out there on it? The project page is a bit to the point, ( download only). And also found the wiki that showed me how to open a file... Ok I may be a programmer but I can figure that out ;) Are there any more in depth tut's out there?

Would I be at all correct in assuming it creates XML's that can be parsed with the SDK?

Post subject: Re: horde3d tutorial?
PostPosted: 03.01.2009, 12:01 
Tool Developer

Yes documentation is something that can be always improved. I started to move the content of the preliminary PDF to the wiki some time ago to allow others improving the documentation too ( wiki is open for all registered forum users ). The editor can be used to create .scene.xml files but also to develop shaders or to do fast prototyping using Lua. Shaders can not be written directly in the editor but will be reloaded automatically if one of the shader files loaded in the scene has been changed. Materials and textures will be reloaded as well, geometry files and .scene.xml files can not be reloaded automatically since this may result in crashes due to wrong vertex indices or something like that.

Concerning user friendliness, I'm always open for proposals to improve it.

PostPosted: 04.01.2009, 05:36 

Ok understood, but there is much that a person needs to know.. Going to post some confusion here then.

Quote:
It is important that you configure this light properly since the Material, Lighting Context and Shader Context parameters are used for the standard light source in the preview window when adding new models to your scene.
- If its important then how about some help knowing what any of this means?