Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 28.03.2024, 09:35

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Inferred lighting
PostPosted: 27.11.2009, 13:18 

This seems like a very useful technique:

http://graphics.cs.uiuc.edu/~kircher/in ... _paper.pdf

A very short summary:
Low resolution light-prepass rendering using an object/normal id buffer for discontinuity sensitive filtering

Now I think this technique (esp. the DSF filtering) could be very useful. For example SSAO is usually done at a lower resolution as well, and this could solve the filtering along discontinuities in a nice, clean, low-cost way.

Is there any way in horde3d to draw some kind of pseudo-unique ids per object? For the normal-group id's it should be possible to either bake it into the normal map, as afaik (but I'm new to horde) there are no vertex colors which could be "abused" for this. Or maybe the bitangent vector could be overwritten with other data, as it can be computed from normal and tangent vectors.

Post subject: Re: Inferred lighting
PostPosted: 29.11.2009, 06:44 

Yeah I skimmed over that paper recently and was very impressed!

I haven't had time to go back and study it in detail yet, but I remember they use stipple-patterns (or something along those lines) to interleave alpha and non-alpha objects into the same G-buffer. This might be only limited to one layer of alpha (can't remember, have to read it properly!), but it's really great to integrate alpha-transparency into a deferred set-up like this.

Unique object IDs could be assigned using shader uniforms, and normal-group IDs could be stored as a color attribute in the vertex steam. AFAIK horde should support multiple color attributes (maybe with a little bit of tweaking to the collada converter?), but I've not done it myself yet.

PostPosted: 29.11.2009, 09:47 

DarkAngel wrote:
Yeah I skimmed over that paper recently and was very impressed!