Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 28.03.2024, 11:18

All times are UTC + 1 hour

PostPosted: 23.06.2010, 00:06 

I want to create this effect with dynamically loaded sprites:

What would be the most efficient way to achieve this in Horde3D? I want to have dozens of those objects on screen, with full lighting and casting correct shadows. Could this be achieved with just the 2D texture of the sprite on a single quad and some fancy displacement/geometry shader? Or is it not that simple?

I have never worked with Horde3D/shaders before and am unsure how to start here. ;)

The worst case would obviously be to do it by hand and create individual cubes for every pixel. :/

PostPosted: 24.06.2010, 04:41 

Hi johannes,

Looking at what you would want to achieve, it might be best to just add code to extrude mesh so you'd need to edit horde3d internals, or add the enhancement as an extension would probably be the best solution. You could do it on the cpu as well, so the geometry shader wouldn't be mandatory (horde doesn't support geometry shaders at this time).

Another idea, you might be able to get a similar effect by just playing around with the parallax shader and just make a quad which is bigger than the sprite so the silhouette doesn't get cut off. Real-time shadows wouldn't work properly however, but this might be the easiest solution I'd say because you would only edit shader code (for tweaking the effect).

A brute-force technique could be that you just have an array of cubes and use a texture look-up in the vertex shader to displace those cubes, a bit like how the terrain extension works. Way too expensive I'd say.

Cheap n' nasty: Could you just have like a crapload of quads overlapping each other out like some hacky parallax effect? That could work depending on camera angles + shadows might work.

PostPosted: 24.06.2010, 11:54 

Thanks for the reply, MistaED. :)

MistaED wrote: