Horde3D http://horde3d.org/forums/ |
|
getVersionString() behavior http://horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=447 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Fidora [ 25.07.2008, 20:03 ] |
Post subject: | getVersionString() behavior |
I don't see why getVersionString should include "Horde3D", I can only see disadvantages with it. But please enlighten me if there are any reasons for this behavior. |
Author: | speeder [ 28.07.2008, 21:19 ] |
Post subject: | Re: getVersionString() behavior |
Maybe in case someone create a fork, and you are using a DLL? And the game work with both Horde3D and its forks? |
Author: | swiftcoder [ 28.07.2008, 22:24 ] |
Post subject: | Re: getVersionString() behavior |
Fidora wrote: I don't see why getVersionString should include "Horde3D", I can only see disadvantages with it. The version string is meant to be human-readable, so not much reason leave it out (apart from localisation issues).But please enlighten me if there are any reasons for this behavior. However, I do think we need a setup to detect versions at both compile time and run time, or we wont be able to account for differing versions very well. Something like this: Code: #define HORDE3D_MAJOR 1 Which would allow us to make sure at run time that we are using the same version we were compiled against.#define HORDE3D_MINOR 0 #define HORDE3D_PATCH 0 struct Horde3d_version { char major; char minor; char patch; }; // fill out a version structure at compile time #define HORDE3D_COMPILED_VERSION(version) { \ version.major = HORDE3D_MAJOR; \ version.minor = HORDE3D_MINOR; \ version.patch = HORDE3D_PATCH; \ } // fill out a version structure at run time void Horde3d::version(Horde3d_version &version) { version.major = HORDE3D_MAJOR; version.minor = HORDE3D_MINOR; version.patch = HORDE3D_PATCH; } *note that this scheme is lifted pretty much verbatim from GNU |
Author: | Fidora [ 28.07.2008, 22:51 ] |
Post subject: | Re: getVersionString() behavior |
Yeah swiftcoder, that could come in very handy. |
Author: | DDd [ 03.08.2008, 02:22 ] |
Post subject: | Re: getVersionString() behavior |
Hum... what about embedding the Revision number from svn (local or original). That way would have a more meaningful value as we would have a log of all the changes and fixes applied to that branch, instead of just a couple of numbers that have little significance. Just a thought, i have actually never done this, but does not sound like a bad idea at 2.20 AM |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC + 1 hour |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group https://www.phpbb.com/ |