Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 19.05.2024, 16:51

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 04.06.2012, 15:57 
Offline

Joined: 19.01.2012, 21:01
Posts: 55
I've got almost all of api calls written in a first pass for the Go wrapper I'm writing for Horde3D, and I'm running into some issues trying to do a simple example using SDL.

The code here (http://code.google.com/p/gohorde/source ... sdl/sdl.go) is old, but I'll commit the latest when I get back to my home PC. You should be able to get the gist of what I'm trying to do though.

Basically, I'm getting the black SDL window, and calling DumpMessages() doesn't show any errors, but I'm not seeing anything.

What other tools are at my disposal (from an API perspective) to look for errors. Is there some sort of verbose logging I can enable? My concern is I might not be making the C calls properly, but as near as I can tell it seems to be running fine.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 04.06.2012, 20:04 
Offline
Tool Developer

Joined: 13.11.2007, 11:07
Posts: 1150
Location: Germany
Haven't used SDL myself before, so not sure what might be necessary to init a proper OpenGL window in SDL. But you could first try to insert a glClear with a custom glClearColor in the rendering loop instead of trying to render in Horde already, just to make sure, viewport and OpenGL window is initialized correctly. If that does work, it might be possible that camera transformation is pointing to a black area of your scene. You could also try to activate the debug rendering in Horde (by using h3dSetOption( H3DOptions::DebugViewMode, 1 )) and check if that makes a difference in the rendering output.

Is the EngineLog file empty or does it only shows no error?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 04.06.2012, 20:08 
Offline

Joined: 19.01.2012, 21:01
Posts: 55
Volker wrote:
Is the EngineLog file empty or does it only shows no error?



Only shows no errors. It has all of the init messages. I'll post a dump of it later.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 20.06.2012, 04:38 
Offline

Joined: 19.01.2012, 21:01
Posts: 55
Here's my Horde3D Log from the code here: http://code.google.com/p/gohorde/source ... fw/glfw.go
Using GLFW.
Code:
0.000   
Initializing GL2 backend using OpenGL driver '3.3.0 NVIDIA 295.40' by 'NVIDIA Corporation' on 'GeForce GTX 295/PCIe/SSE2'
0.033   
Loading resource 'hdr.pipeline.xml'
0.045   
Loading resource 'knight/knight.scene.xml'
0.046   
Loading resource 'pipelines/globalSettings.material.xml'
0.046   
Loading resource 'pipelines/postHDR.material.xml'
0.047   
Loading resource 'models/knight/knight.geo'
0.051   
Loading resource 'models/knight/knight.material.xml'
0.051   
Loading resource 'textures/ambientMap.dds'
0.052   
Loading resource 'shaders/postHDR.shader'
0.052   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/postHDR.shader@FINALPASS[0] ----
0.054   
Loading resource 'shaders/model.shader'
0.054   
Loading resource 'models/knight/knight.jpg'
0.057   
Loading resource 'models/skybox/skybox.dds'
0.070   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/fragPostProcess.glsl'
0.071   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/postHDR.shader@BRIGHTPASS[0] ----
0.072   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/postHDR.shader@BLUR[0] ----
0.073   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/vertCommon.glsl'
0.073   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/vertSkinning.glsl'
0.073   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/model.shader@SHADOWMAP[1] ----
0.075   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/fragDeferredWrite.glsl'
0.075   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/model.shader@ATTRIBPASS[1] ----
0.077   
Loading resource 'shaders/utilityLib/fragLighting.glsl'
0.077   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/model.shader@LIGHTING[1] ----
0.082   
---- C O M P I L I N G  . S H A D E R . shaders/model.shader@AMBIENT[9] ----
0.084   
Loading resource 'textures/common/defnorm.tga'



I've tried moving the camera and the model node around to make sure it's in the view, but I'm not getting anything, not even with the debug viewer on.

Right now the code shows the same positioning of the Knight model as where it is in the Knight Sample, which starts out on screen.

I started from the tutorial here: http://horde3d.org/docs/html/_tutorial.html but it references pipeline and model resources that don't seem to exist anywhere, and I believe standard pipeline is now forward pipeline, which leads me to believe it's a little out of date.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 26.06.2012, 04:38 
Offline

Joined: 19.01.2012, 21:01
Posts: 55
Figured out the issue. The problem was a typo in how I was defining the camera option enums in Go. Everything was working fine, but basically the Camera::ViewportWidth enum was defined as the wrong number.

Everything's working now.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 26.06.2012, 05:54 
Offline

Joined: 15.02.2009, 02:13
Posts: 161
Location: Sydney Australia
Congrats tshannon! I've not used go-lang before but it does sound like it could be a cool language to use. Be sure to send patches in too! :)

_________________
-Alex
Website


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group